WhatsApp is a useful chat app that people use to keep in contact with their loved ones and friends. However, scammers lure people onto WhatsApp in order to scam them out of money then block them on WhatsApp without warning, making them lose out on thousands of dollars. Scammers aren’t the only ones blocking people either. There are people everywhere wondering if their loved ones have blocked them on WhatsApp or if they just deleted their accounts. Therefore, at Social Catfish, we decided to help you figure out how to know if someone blocked you on WhatsApp instead of deleting their account.
How to Know if Someone Blocked You on WhatsApp
Check and See When That Person Was Last Seen
If you are curious as to whether or not someone has blocked you, go to their chat and check when they were last seen through their online status. If you can’t see when they were last seen, then this could be a sign that they blocked you. However, if you can see their online status, then you are still friends with that person.
Check to See if Their Profile Picture is Showing
Usually, if you’re friends with the person, you will be able to see that person’s profile picture if they have one. However, if the person’s profile picture disappeared without explanation, this could be a sign that they have blocked you off of their WhatsApp. If you’re friends with someone that had a profile picture that disappeared randomly, then this might be a sign to worry about.
Try to Call Them Through WhatsApp
When you are friends with someone on WhatsApp, you should be able to call them without any issues. If calls are going through and you are able to get a hold of someone, then you are still on their friend’s list and they have not blocked you. However, if your calls hit a dead end and you are unable to get a hold of that person, this could be a sign that you have been blocked from their WhatsApp.
Create a Group Chat With the Person in Question
Creating a group chat with your friends and the person in question should be easy if they are still on your friend’s list. All you need to do is create a chat and add everyone you want into that chat board. However, if it’s impossible to add the person in question to the group chat, then that person probably blocked you on WhatsApp.
Check to See if Their Message Delivered
On WhatsApp, there are two checkmarks that pop up next to your message that you send someone else. If only one checkmark pops up, then that means that the message was sent but not delivered. However, if two checkmarks appear next to your message this means that it’s been delivered. If only one checkmark appears next to your message and doesn’t change within a few hours, they might have blocked you on WhatsApp.
What To Do if Someone Blocked You on WhatsApp
If a scammer or a loved one blocked you on WhatsApp, don’t lose hope. There are still ways to recover after a romance scam and there might still be a possibility to gain your money back. You can also try to communicate with a loved one on other platforms to figure out why they blocked you on WhatsApp.
Here are some tips on what to do if someone blocks you on WhatsApp:
- Report a scammer to the FTC if you were scammed out of any money.
- Report the scam to your local police department.
- Talk to your bank about what you can do to get some of your money back.
- Try to talk to your loved ones on another platform about why they blocked you on WhatsApp
- Search up your friend’s name to see if they created a new WhatsApp account.
Did They Delete Their Account? Find Out with Social Catfish!
At Social Catfish, we want to help you verify the identities of those who might have deleted their WhatsApp account. If you have their name, email address, phone number, social media username, or image, you can reverse search to see if this person still has a WhatsApp account. If they have a WhatsApp account then the results will tell you on our reverse search platform. If not, then you will find out too. We are a good resource when figuring out how to know if someone blocked you on WhatsApp.