Tinder is a dating app which is often called “fun” or “like a video game” as users swipe on their phone to “like” or "dislike" potential dates. Photo heavy, users can r… Read More
As dating progresses into a relationship, you may want to delete your dating app. Read below to learn how to delete your Tinder account.
At first, downloading a new dating app is exciting. Amongst a sea of faces, you hope you’ll meet your perfect match. After some time passes, you may chat with other users, text, and go on dates.
Other times, Tinder users have experiences that aren’t what they hoped. These could range from being “catfished” by someone who isn’t whom they claimed to be or doesn’t look like their photographs, encountering online spam or scams, or just not liking matches on the app.
Deleting the app’s icon from your phone will not delete your actual Tinder account. Permanently deleting your Tinder account requires the following steps.
Step 1: Open the App
Although Tinder now has a desktop version of it’s dating app, account deletion is only available through the app itself (for security reasons). If you made the mistake of already deleting the app, you would need to download it again.
Step 2: Look for the ‘Profile Icon’ at the Top of the Screen
Tinder’s app is streamlined for easy options. Select the ‘profile icon’ (which resembles a person) at the upper left side of the main screen.
Step 3: Settings
Once you’ve selected the ‘profile icon,’ you will see several options. Select “Settings.”
Step 4: Delete Account
Scroll to the bottom of the page and select “Delete Account.”
Once you press this option, your account deletion will be confirmed with a message which reads, “Account Successfully Deleted.”
Step 5: Important Reminder About Paid Subscriptions
Many users who delete their account believe doing so will cancel their paid subscriptions, but this is not the case. The only way of deleting your account will also remove your paid membership, is if you signed up through the website, at www.Tinder.com. If you signed up through the app on your smart-device (using your Apple ID or Google Play Store ID), deleting either the app or your account will NOT stop recurring billing.
It is imperative to delete your paid subscription first, visit:
… and then follow the usual account deletion steps above.
Step 6: Temporarily Hide Account Instead (Optional)
Sometimes users don’t want to permanently delete their account and opt to temporarily hide their profile instead (for instance, if they’ve met someone they like but aren’t officially exclusive). If that is what you’re looking do, go to “Settings,” then “Discovery” and make your profile not discoverable.
This will keep the matches and messages that you already have but stop new users from seeing you. To search for new users, you’ll have to be discoverable again. If you prefer permanently deleting your account, you will need to follow Steps 1-4.